Good Morning

Yesterday I explained that there was four stages of the growth cycle.

  1. Unconscious Incompetence
  2. Conscious incompetence
  3. Conscious Competence
  4. Unconscious Competence

Today we are going to discuss briefly about stage one. At the unconscious incompetence stage you don’t really know what you don’t know. You are doing or learning something new and you have no idea what you really don’t know or what you need to know. Your excited level and energy is high. You are super excited to be doing this new thing but you don”t have the skill or knowledge to do it yet. This is okay. Everyone starts at this level. You also have no idea where you stand as far as skill or knowledge. This also is a good thing. This allows you to start something new with a fresh perspective. Your full is empty and is ready to be filled. Gaining new knowledge, skills, and etc,. is exciting. Stage one is fun and exciting. It feels fresh. It allow you imagination to run wild a bit. Thinking of all the great things that could happen. Try to keep this level of energy you have here high and embrace any challenges along the way in the other three growth stages.

Tomorrow we will discuss stage two of the growth cycle, Conscious Incompetence.

Master Jonathan Field

Cobourg Tae Kwon Do

Leave a Reply