The past two days we discussed Stages 1 and 2 of the growth cycle which are unconscious incompetence and conscious incompetence. Now today we are going to discuss stage three which is conscious competence.

Conscious competence is where the transformation of your new skills, knowledge, habits, and etc are taking place. You are competent in what you are doing however you still have to think about it. These new skills, habits, and knowledge have not been completely programmed into your mind and body yet. You are getting better each day but you have to put a lot of thought into it. You have to think about what you are doing. You are still making adjustments along the way. By the time you reach this stage you are probably starting to feel better about yourself as you see the results happen. Especially if you had any worries or concerns during stage two when you realized you don’t know what you need to know. Stage three the knowledge and the habits are building up. You are consciously seeking out more and more. You are purposely working on developing yourself.

Tomorrow is the fourth and final stage of the growth cycle; Unconscious Competence.

Master Jonathan Field

Cobourg Tae Kwon Do


Good Morning

I would like to talk about the four stages of growth over the next five days. The cycle of growth is something we all go through thousands and thousands of times throughout our lifetime. Most of the time we do this unconsciously. Our unconscious mind is very powerful and guides us through our lives. It helps us through the cycle of growth. However if we were to consciously focus on the cycle of growth we would become greater than what we are currently.

The cycle of growth involves four steps.

  1. Unconscious Incompetence
  2. Conscious Incompetence
  3. Conscious Competence
  4. Unconscious Competence

We all go through each step of the growth cycle with various expectations, energy levels, and various attitudes. Some steps take longer than others depending on many different factors. The important part is that you go through the process with focus on the process. One must embrace and enjoy the process.

So tomorrow we will be discussing step one which is Unconscious Imcompetence.

Master Jonathan Field

Cobourg Tae Kwon Do